A Wrinkle in Time in Iceland

I started this blog to document my fellowship with the Aga Khan Foundation Canada, breathing in the Nairobi air and exhaling some of my experiences over my year in Kenya. As I am no longer in Nairobi my Nairobi Narrative (Chapter 1) comes to a close, but I am opening up a new chapter as I start my Life in London (new blog!) as a MSc student at the London School of Economics studying Media, Communication and Development.

So I bring you this transition blog post, featuring Iceland.

“Iceland?” you may wonder. “I thought she said London.”

Yes, but in order to get the cheapest flight to London, I had to travel through Iceland. (What up, Iceland air? Seriously smart economic move to bring in some tourism dollars.)

My option was a lay-over of 2 hours (enough time to get off the plane, get a coffee, be bored, get back on the plane) or of 10 hours.  Clearly I chose 10 hours.

Trans-Atlantic flying always make me feel like a time-traveler. Or a tiny bit of a glimpse into the lives of Mrs. Who, Mrs. Which, and Mrs. Whatsit in Madeleine L’Engle’s “A Wrinkle in Time” (shoutout to Grade 5).

I arrived in Reykjavik, Iceland at 6:30am OR 1:30am in Toronto. (Seriously! Where do the hours go?) The Reykjavik airport’s tourism information is tailored for flyers passing through and I soon signed up to spend my lay-over at the Blue Lagoon – Iceland’s Geothermal Spa.

So as I sat contemplating the weird little twists and wrinkle in times that bring us to places here:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

